Bringing back Coda 2 Integrated Database editor/manager to life, or APIs for Devs to do so?

Hi :wave:

Coda 2 used to have a beautiful database editor (I’m not sure if it was limited to MySQL only), which is dearly missed!

I understand, of course, that things have changed dramatically since then, and there are many DB services. It may not be possible to maintain such a feature, so a Language Server Protocol (LSP) approach is needed to allow the community to add the support.

Now, I’m not very experienced in this subject matter, but I’ve been forced to use VSCode :weary: because I’m programming in Java against my will :weary:. There is no Java LSP extension in Nova just yet. I was messing with databases and came across the SQLTools Extension. I found it quite interesting and intriguing. I’m not sure about the inner workings, but it seems like a nice approach where users can add drivers as they need, and voila, you would have a fully-fledged database viewer and editor. As an extension, it’s pretty impressive. In fact, the first thing that came to my mind was the Coda 2 nostalgia, haha.

It would be extremely handy if Panic designed some sort of native, built-in SQLTool, and then developers could create extensions based on that, etc. :innocent:

1 Like

Have you try tableplus? A dedicated tool is probably the best way you can go, the same goes for love, is probably better to concentrate on being the best editor possible

Mmm, for me personally, being a good editor is all about the ecosystem and superb, efficient, and performant APIs.

In terms of goodness, the fact that Panic migrated to tree-sitter and is incredibly native, they have already ticked all the boxes. It’s the collection of many small things it has that has kept me hooked.