[Feature Request for LanguageClient] Expose the API that Nova already uses to convert (line; character) into Nova Ranges [Possible duplicate of #601]

Update: This is a possible duplicate of #601. Thanks to @mike.bronner for noticing it!

Hi! Another newbie here (oh, BTW, thanks for setting this Discourse forum up; I have just found it today by pure chance, and was actually going to email a request for such a forum… duh!); to make matters worse, I’m not a JavaScript programmer, either, so bear with me if nothing said below makes any sense…

I believe that this feature request hasn’t been raised, so here it goes: would it be possible to expose an API that allows easy conversion between the ranges used by the LSP, which are based on (line; character) pairs, and Nova’s own concept of a Range, which is based on a pair of Positions?

Here is the problem: for all the LSP functionality that Nova already implements, such conversion happens automatically. Let’s take a simple example: dealing with hovers. The specs show that one can receive from the server an optional range to identify where the hover appears. Nova correctly converts this LSP range into the internal range, and hovers appear where they are supposed to appear.

It’s also obvious that Nova can convert between the internal Position to the (Line, Column) display it in real-time on the footer; in fact, as far as I could figure out visually, the editor itself uses (Line, Column) for pretty much everything.

Nevertheless, we’re stuck with Ranges that are based on a linear representation of the position. Note that I’m agnostic about what solution is ‘best’ (especially when having to take into account Unicode characters); my issue is about the best way to convert one representation into the other.